(more) Science Blogs Reviewed – the E’s

I hope I’m not boring everyone to tears with these Science Blog reviews. I’ll be the first to admit that science isn’t for everyone, but when it’s done well, it can offer a glimpse into the world of some of finest analytical minds alive, as well as revealing some of the wondrous beauties of nature’s kingdom. I’ll be forever indebted to the likes of Paul Davies, Matt Ridley, and Jared Diamond for showing us how well science can be portrayed. OK, enough chit-chat, onto the reviews –

Effect Measure: public health scientists. Their main work is on bird flu, although they are interested in all outbreaks. Here’s a striking post on pandemic planning. I’m glad these guys are watching out for us.

evolgen: PhD student. The blog name is a clever condensation of the terms evolution and genetics, and the author is indeed a bright spark. Absolutely fearless in his pursuits, he lines up here against Edward O Wilson, and here in defence of the Public Library of Science. Molecular Biology is a fascinating field, and the evolutionary process cannot really be studied at a lower level. Top notch.

EvolutionBlog: Assistant Professor of Mathematics writing about evolution. I think he’s out of his depth.

Evolving Thoughts: postdoc, taxonomy. Wanders a bit everywhere, needs more focus.

Examining Room: physician. Has an interesting collection of personal stories, all with a medical angle. Here’s a highly debated post on John Edwards (presidential candidate) regards his previous career as a personal injury lawyer.

We’re slowly getting there.

5 Responses to “(more) Science Blogs Reviewed – the E’s”

  1. ncurse Says:

    I like your reviews. I’m looking forward to see your opinion on Scienceroll. 🙂

    When you’re finished, I’ll post your Reviews category in my blog. Keep up this good work!

  2. ggwfung Says:

    Thanks for the encouragement. Much appreciated.

    And you’ve been subsumed into my blogroll. Hope you can find yourself!

    ggw

  3. ncurse Says:

    I added you to mine! Pump it up a bit as the letter S is far away from here. 🙂

  4. John Wilkins Says:

    The whole idea of my blog is to wander a bit everywhere. If I had a focus, I’d get a lot more boring right away.

  5. ggwfung Says:

    OK, thanks John. The link you’ve left under your name goes to your old blog. John now blogs at Evolving Thoughts for Science Blogs.

    Hey, I’m the same. I go everywhere too. But know what? Unless you do something outstandingly well, you will get lost amongst everyone else. A certain passion, or focus is needed. That’s my view, or at least my opinion.

    Thanks for dropping by John,

    ggw

Leave a Reply

