The Inner Work-Life Balance

Work, for ninety percent of people, is about money.

Most people don’t mind their job, and some even find it gratifying, but start and stop of story, it’s about an income.

And why an income? Because you need to spend!

But what has to be acknowledged is that spending needs vary at different stages of life. And even then, there is a discretionary element. There are choices between renting/owning, driving/busing, eating out/cooking at home. Costs can be controlled.

There is only so much time in a month, and how you divide it up is up to you. Lots of costs, means full time work. Spending less, maybe there is an option to drop a day or two.

It’s that inner balance between what you have to do, and what you choose to do. The divide between the cares of life, and the joys of life. It’s up to you.

9 Responses to “The Inner Work-Life Balance”

  1. fatsavage Says:

    I always thought the work-life relationship was backwards – and as I approach retirement age and watch my children struggle to balance family and jobs, I am sure of it.

    When young, I wanted to stay home to protect and raise my children. I figured when I was old, there would be ample time to work and an empty nest with no distractions. The only need was for money so I worked.

    When old with an empty nest, my own business and money, I will work until I drop dead on the job. I still wish I had more time to spend with the kids when they were younger and my only current distraction at work is the six trips a year to visit them and the 3-4 weeks a year the grandchildren spend with us.

    Thank God for Grandchildren.

  2. SilverTiger Says:

    As with most things, I think this is a matter for personal choice. For some people career is the be all and end all: it gives them status in their own eyes; it is what they are and they need it as much as food and shelter. For others, a job is just a dull necessity, the means to make a living. Still others have the wit or the luck to duck out of the whole thing and live a different sort of life.

    I had a career and hated it. I always had trouble deciding what I was and when people asked, as people are wont to do, “What do you do?” I used to give silly answers like “As little as possible.”

    I was lucky enough to find a way to duck out. OK, it took a little courage too to judge from how scared I felt at first. Fortunately I have reckless moments.

    Yes, you can live on a lower income and do with less possessions but it means changing your whole life around. You can’t just go on as before but at a slightly lesser pace, as it were. If you try to do it that way, you will fail. You have to redesign your life. New life; new philosophy; new everything. What if you fail? Tough: no one says it has to work.

    Take a chance or opt for dull security. Know yourself and make your choice.

    Email SilverTiger

  3. engenios Says:

    A good subject for any wouldbe web-business developers.

    As a former bricks and mortars man, I am still carrying the battle scars of spending 10 years building a 6 million a year business, only to see the bricks pull out from under me, with crushing consequences.

    My pursuit of the new media is quite evenly tempered with a new wife and new baby. I’ve heard so many say they wish they’d spent more time with their kids.

    Go for it I agree, but keep things in perspective, where you are going you can’t take it with you,…..and besides, you know to WHOM you’ve got some explaining to do!…well, atleast you should?

  4. gingermiss Says:

    I think many more people would prefer to keep themselves out of the traditional workforce and pursue something more fulfilling; but they can’t. Money may not be everything, but it’s also something that many cannot live without. People need health insurance, shelter, food, (all things that continually increase at a rate that makes it harder and harder for the lower classes to afford them) and, of course, many want a nice, hefty chunk of expendable income.

    Not only that, but there are oftentimes things you just can’t get without a job. Frequently you’re required to have a job with a certain income to secure an apartment or qualify for loans or mortgages. It saddens me that the labor options people have seem to become less and less every day, but I can understand why many people feel that they aren’t given any other viable opportunity. Even when you simplify your life to the barest minimum, many, many people still cannot afford to pursue something they have a passion for, which may ultimately be the way of the world. Costs CAN be controlled, but at a certain point there’s only so much you can do.

  5. rlao Says:

    work hard, play hard, and don’t dwell too much on the meaning of life; be happy, don’t try to hurt anyone, and hopefully the world is a little better because of you

  6. SilverTiger Says:

    To gingermiss: I agree that most people are trapped in the cycle of work, family and mortgage or some other cycle, such as a business that they build themselves and which they are then chained to. It must also be said that some people find happiness and fulfillment in this. Good luck to those people.

    I agree that it is hard to break away. It takes character or luck or both. In my case it was luck allied to a certain disregard for my security: things could still possibly go awry. Not everyone is prepared to take the risk and I am surprised that I was. A happy surprise.

    To rlao: That is certainly one way to look go about living. With a fair wind it leads to contentment or even happiness as long as your temperament is in tune with it. For some of us, “dwelling on the meaning of life” as an essential part of life. As Socrates put it two and a half millennia ago, “The unreflected life is not worth living.” No doubt Lao Tzu and Confucius had other views and were no less happy with their lot.

    To engenios: Sorry to hear of your crash and scars. I hope life will be smoother from now on. I am not sure to whom you think we should explain or what it is we have to explain. As an atheist I believe I am in tension between duty to others and duty to myself. I owe no other allegiance.

    Email SilverTiger

  7. rlao Says:

    yes, we should reflect but not so much to be taken advantage of by people who claimed they had a revelation from whoever.

  8. SilverTiger Says:

    Indeed not. As an atheist, I am not an enthusiast of revelations. But surely it is those who have never learned to reflect who are the most likely to be taken in by prophets and demagogues? By reflection I mean thinking for oneself. I regret that logic and thinking are not taught in the schools when they are arguably as important as writing and reading.

    Email SilverTiger

  9. rlao Says:

    well said. This reminded me to talk to a high school teacher about this. One idea (or revelation if one has a religion background) came into my head as I drove to work this morning. Missionary preys on uneducated like pedophile preys on children. I know it is not a fair comparison and personally I know a few great people who have done missionary works. But by allowing missionary works, we rob innocent people how to think for themselves. What a shame.

Leave a Reply

