Grass Roots Blogging

Here at WordPress things are done a bit differently. There seems to be a bit more community spirit around. For one thing, when you come across a fellow WordPresser, the status bar at the top screams this out – it’s one of us! They’re a good guy!

Another key difference is the absense of ads. This does two things –

1) people don’t try to con you

2) you don’t try to con others.

Simple. We do what we do out of passion, and for the sake of expression. If we can help change the world without taking a toll on someone, then all the better.

People do make a living out of blogging, and I don’t begrudge them that. The internet is just another form of media, and media thrives on ads. But you have to concede it’s ugliness and it’s compromise.

Let’s all promote the WordPress ethos.

11 Responses to “Grass Roots Blogging”

  1. cj Says:

    Three cheers for WordPress!

  2. Skinny Says:

    Yea, it’s cool. One thing I hate about WP though is this seemingly restrictive template. The widgets are limited unless you have WordPress 2.0 or higher. I’m no techno geek so I can’t possibly use HTML or Java Scripts. Work keeps me busy so I don’t have time to learn these stuff. And I know it’s a lame excuse. LOL.

  3. engenios Says:

    If my Grass Roots Blog eventually sprouts some video ‘Shoots’, does that mean you might not pay me a visit and share your great ideas!

    Well, how about one little bitty ad?

    Ok, what about I split the revenue with ya!

  4. Sujit Says:

    “We do what we do out of passion, and for the sake of expression… Let’s all promote the WordPress ethos.”

    Amen.

  5. Rachael Black Says:

    here here! your sentiments echo mine completely.
    my only complaint is a repeat of the prior comment; a painfully restrictive template.
    Oh well, a small price to pay.
    Damned good thing since I’m currently impoverished -grin-.

  6. The Old Fart Says:

    Thankyou for stopping by the blog today, appreciate the visit.

    Lets here it for wordpress, they are a more friendly place to visit. I have given up on blogger. With wordpress there are limits to what you can do, but having the new version of blogger isn’t a piece of cake either.

    Have a wonderful weekend

  7. Literary Bohemian Says:

    I haven’t been on wordpress for very long, and have only just recently begun to really understand how to use it. In that time, I’ve noticed that the community here is wonderful and oh so very talented! What a creative group. Bravo!

  8. timbob Says:

    Blogging rocks. I do it primarily to discuss ideas and those things which are dear to my heart. Just found your site. Howdy!

  9. Gracie Says:

    It’s a delightful community. They make it quite easy to keep up with comments and fellow bloggers which I do like.

    Hope you are doing well.

  10. Naughty Heather Says:

    I agree – WordPress has some features that make it easy to create community…and as a writer who lives and works in a world decidedly apart from writing, well, it’s wonderful to read talented writers and have a place to express my own thoughts. I absolutely love being here and being a part of this community.

  11. shaunak Says:

    Hear hear!

Leave a Reply

