A Food Experiment

I once tried living off fruit.

It lasted for about 3 months, and came at a difficult point in my life. I didn’t seem to have any control of my life, so I turned things inward – it became about food.

So yeah, apples, oranges, bananas, the stock stuff, plus the more exotic tangerines, kiwi fruit, and various melons. There was also peaches and pears, and cherries whenever I could afford them. I tried to be as diverse as I could.

It seemed like one long haze. There was a constant hunger, so I ate every 90 minutes, And fruit is mostly water, so I had to piss all the time. Sleep was light. Concentration very difficult.

In the end I just got bored of it. I started adding cooked vegetables, then rice, then breads and butter, and before long meats were back on the menu.

I haven’t looked back since.

11 Responses to “A Food Experiment”

  1. Sujit Says:

    Oh wow – that’s quite a feat!

  2. ggwfung Says:

    or quite a feast? 🙂

    ggw

  3. SilverTiger Says:

    When I became vegetarian many years ago, I discovered that there is an intrepid band of folk called fruitarians who claim to eat only what plants “voluntarily” give up, such as fruit and seeds. I know nothing more about them but feel I should. It seems a noble way to live, causing suffering to neither beast nor plant.

    Should we worry about the way plants feel? Well, possibly. I am sure we have all seen those speeded up films showing what can only be described as wrestling between plants and the climbing weeds threatening to suffocate them. Plants, like animals, respond to stimuli (think of the venus fly trap for a dramatic example) and in animals at least, stimuli and responses produce sensations. We would not like to be boiled alive so perhaps potatoes, cabbages and broccoli don’t either.

    I suppose it depends on whether plants are conscious. If they are not, then there’s less of a problem. If you stick a needle in the arm of a man in a coma, biologically there is pain, but if he recovers from the coma he will say he was not conscious of any pain. Do we know if plants are conscious, even a little bit?

    We assume that consciousness requires a brain and plants have no brains but is this stereotypical thinking? Maybe organisms that get along perfectly well without brains have other ways of being conscious.

    Email SilverTiger

  4. homeyra Says:

    That sounded like a bad Idea Man 🙂

  5. Naughty Heather Says:

    Hey, can I try an all vodka diet? The one I like is distilled from grapes…does that count? 🙂

  6. ggwfung Says:

    Heather, I’m glad you’ve volunteered.

    … and I will be a witness for your death certificate

    🙂

    ggw

  7. seekingfor Says:

    This only goes to show what a power food can hold in our minds.

    I know I am still fighting my battles daily.

  8. Naughty Heather Says:

    ggw- Dude seriously. I can hold my liquor!! 😉

  9. fatsavage Says:

    Any reforming Fat Savage could tell you that the secret to a balanced diet is to work hard while foraging all day for whatever a rabbit or bird would eat and then return to the cave for a balanced hot meal. Too much rabbit food will make you suffer. Too many big hot meals will make you fat.

  10. fatsavage Says:

    PS lots of wine with that hot nighttime meal.

  11. Picholine Says:

    I could handle a fruit and cheese diet. Because you know olives, tomatoes, avocados–those are all fruits. And wine of course.

Leave a Reply

