My Favourite Composer: Bach

Bach is my favourite composer
And there is no-one other
Cantatas, concertos, suites and more,
Heavenly treasures become sweet lore.

Bach wrote his summata, his art
A work we call the Well Tempered
C major begins the cycle anew
H moll is where the doors clang true

Bach is good for breakfast
As well as lunch and tea
Chew well, listen hard, and to you
He will show the Musical Clue.

13 Responses to “My Favourite Composer: Bach”

  1. Grace Says:

    I too enjoy Bach
    But sometimes I need rock

    When I’m over-droven
    I listen to Beethoven

    OK, that’s not really a word. But I tried 🙂

  2. Ekker Says:

    I like Bach as well.
    Listening to Bach is one thing but trying to figure out fingerings when playing Bach’s music is difficult. Still, it’s worth everything!

  3. ggwfung Says:

    Yeah, those fugues can get awfully complicated.

  4. homeyra Says:

    ok
    http://homeyra.wordpress.com/2007/01/28/erbarme-dich/

  5. ggwfung Says:

    thanks for the video homeyra. I think it’s time for this to go viral!

    Make today a Bach day folks.

    ggw

  6. homeyra Says:

    Even better! A Bach century… and turn down all the other noises:)

  7. seekingfor Says:

    I’m going to log into Itunes and get me some Bach.

  8. seekingfor Says:

    I just acquired Arnold Steinhardt’s “Bach for Unaccompanied Violin”

    Highly recommended!!!

  9. ggwfung Says:

    Seekingfor, you have the right spirit!

    I am honored to have you as a reader 🙂

    ggw

  10. seekingfor Says:

    Thank you.

  11. ebwrite Says:

    My favorite Bach is Die Kunst der Fugue (The Art of the Fugue), and one of my favorite versions is by Fretwork, a bass viol ensemble from England. It’s on the Harmonia Mundi label. Highly recommended!

    There is something about the sound of a viol consort … it’s like sitting in a warm bath.

  12. Ann O'Johnson Says:

    Yes, I love Bach.

    But even more, I love what Ian Anderson, God’s gift to the flute who pipes that gift back to God, did with a Bouree’ on his album, Stand Up. I believe it also appears on Living in the Past.

    Jazzy.

    I won’t tell you what it most reminds me of. I may have mentioned it in my own blog, though.

    Fun, intelligent stuff here. Thank you!

    Ann

  13. Erbarme Dich « Forever Under Construction Says:

    […] Yes […]

Leave a Reply

