The Travelling Spirit

I used to be quite fond of travel. Whenever the opportunity arose to drop into a new city, or visit some country, I would jump up and down with excitement. There was nothing more joyous than getting totally lost and bewildered in a foreign clime, and then being able to navigate around after a couple of days.

But of late, this wanderlust has diminished. Not that I was ever a master globetrotter, there are people out there who live and die by Lonely Planet, but I’ve had my good share of travels and experiences. Still haven’t been everywhere, but I don’t feel the need as much.

I’ve been reading some wonderful travel blogs recently, and the writing is so good, the pictures so sharp and translucent, that I’m living out my travels second hand. This vicarious visiting is just too easy; almost like getting a hit of cigarette smoke just when you need it. I can take the shortcut and get all the travel highs, without going through the pain (although some people swear by the pain.)

I think I’ve swallowed the online bait.

6 Responses to “The Travelling Spirit”

  1. seekingfor Says:

    I think travel is great. I hope to have the opportunity to do a bit myself someday. However, I think it is important to be comfortable in our own environment and appreciate the wonder we experience everyday.

  2. tobeme Says:

    I love to travel. Some of my fondest memories are of far away places and near by places that I have visited. One can learn so much from being in a different culture. I don’t believe you can get all of that from a travel blog. Travel blogs only make my desire to travel again even stronger.
    Glad that you have found what you are looking for in travel blogs.
    Looking forward to my next adventure!

  3. rlao Says:

    I understand. I have some friends who used to travel a lot but no longer. I don’t know I will ever become like that someday. Until then, I will travel when I can. I don’t remember what I did 14 years ago at work or anything else but I remember the trip we took to Scandinavia.

    We also enjoy and love things locally. We used to make jokes that if we want to run into some friends, we had to drive 4 hours to Yosemite but if we wanted to get away, we would just go to a local Preserve: never run into people there. Yes, enjoy them all, wherever they’re at.

  4. ashmu Says:

    Traveling is simply amazing, Many a times the journey to a particular destination is more memorable than the destination itself. I know a lot of people who are extremely busy with their profession and it is only when they have to travel long distance that they get to do things that they wanted to do for a long time, like read a book or write something. speak to someone etc..

  5. Brandon Says:

    Ever used Google Earth? That’s about as close as I’ve been getting to inter-continental traveling lately. 🙂 Right now, I think I’ll take a look at some sandy beaches, sip at my pina colada and throw on some Barry Manilow.

  6. ggwfung Says:

    That’s a nice life. Digital travel – no jetlag, no crappy airline food. Way to go Brandon!

    ggw

Leave a Reply

