Emotive Ways of Blogging

Blogging is an artform. There is technique, there are to-dos. It is ultimately about the reading experience, and communicating a message. You want to be as effective as possible.

It’s not a con, it’s about making it work.

Here are 4 different ways of toning your message for greatest impact.

1. The Angry Post – this is the big rant. Hey, something’s gone wrong, and I’m pissed off! I’m telling you all! It can be quite a valid complaint (buying a crap phone, bad eating experience) or it can be a mild whinge (feeling tired today, kids playing up). Either way, it’s all about feeling unhappy. The Angry Post triggers a reflex response for readers who have had a similar experience.

2. The Gossip Post – hey, did you hear that x did this at work? Everyone likes rumours because it’s like being privy to special information. You’re in the know. In the secret club. It can be gossip about anything. About people. About gadgets. Remember this iPhone buzz? Gossip can be tantalizing, but quickly fades into airy nothings.

3. The Idea Post – my personal favourite :-). A new take on things, a new angle, then share it! Polish it up, make it readable, then get others excited. It can be a simple life experience drawn into something larger. It adds value to you, your readers, and everyone else. It becomes a long term contribution to the digital world.

4. The Group Post – all blogs have a niche audience. At times, it’s positive to restate who you are, what you are about, sharing a bit of yourself online. It forms a bond between you and your readers; a form of social grace. A great way to promote the two-way communication that blogs thrive on.

There are many other ways to blog. Share your experience!

expanded upon from Valleywag

9 Responses to “Emotive Ways of Blogging”

  1. ggwfung Says:

    My apologies to everyone, but this post was deleted and reposted with it’s current title.

    I’ve had a bit of a brain meltdown, but that’s nothing unusual.

    More chaos than usual.

    ggw

  2. jumpinjessflash Says:

    My my beef–forgive me for that one–rests mostly with those who eat some type of meat, such as fish or poultry, on a regular basis and still define themselves as vegetarians, ESPECIALLY when they reason on environmental or ethical grounds.

    Blogging is definitely an artform, and I agree that creativity is key. I am just starting and tring to learn; I feel like my posts thus far come off too report-like, but I do think there’s something to be said about the informative post.

  3. Naughty Heather Says:

    MMmmmmm I guess mine is mostly a cryptic gossip blog….maybe….

  4. rlao Says:

    When I first heard of blogging, I always wonder why people blogs. I figure there isn’t anything interesting about my life that others want to know or should know. Besides, there are already too much information on the web. Later, I concluded that it was a way of being heard of your ideas; then it was a great avenue for it.

    I started blogging my trip as a journal so we can look back at our trip in a few years. It also has the added pressure of keeping up my works, just perhaps if there are people reading it. Then I realized it could be great for my kids to read it when they grow up as they were unknowing participants for the trip; perhaps the story can make the trip a part of their lives.

    As a side effect of my blogging, I started reading a few of other blogs, not many as I don’t have a lot of time. Some of them are great; some resonate my thought but much more elegantly phrased and some made me think more. Your posts have always been great. I think you. Another wishful byproduct of my blogging is to become a better writer and the only way to get there is keep doing it. Now I just need an editor.

    Recently I realize that I wish my dad could write something about his life and trips. There are thousands of books out there, people spelling guts about their lives for a few bucks. And people are buying them. I think I much rather read my dad’s story. If the blog can help us to leave a legacy for our loved ones, it serves another great purpose.

  5. tobeme Says:

    Blogging, which is writing, is an art form. To me there are two types of people who blog, one writes for the sake of writing with the hope that you can share and impact someone else in the process. The other is the writer who is looking for the stats, hooked on the numbers, designs the titles of their posts to drive traffic to their blog.

    Good post.

  6. Kent Says:

    I love your (emotive) posts / mentoring šŸ™‚

    So happy I found your blog,

    -K

  7. Crawdaddy Says:

    Someone recently asked me, bewildered, “Why do you blog?” I said, I’ve learned that it’s the right format for the kind of art form I want to create. Some people play piano, some people paint on canvas, I like to write “idea posts” accompanied by a good metaphorical photo. What can I say – when blogging, I’m “in the zone.”

  8. newhoosier Says:

    I always try to combine the “rant” with either humor or information on how to not piss me off in the future. For example, “I hate it when people talk on the phone while driving” would either be turned into a funny post or an alternative idea that people could do besides talking on the phone while driving.

    Of course, I like to dispell common “myths” and other “wrongs” as well. I probably get slightly carried away at times though. šŸ˜€

  9. anewday Says:

    Enjoy reading your posts..keep it up! I’m a brand new blogger so this is interesting..any suggestions? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

